Date: 20th April 2017 at 2:37pm
Written by:

The PFA announced their team of the year earlier and with it a slight change from the EFL verdict.

Whilst Jonjo Shelvey and Dwight Gayle were picked for the EFL team of the season for the Championship, the players who most of us would have picked were overlooked.

Again, with the PFA vote, Ciaran Clark and Matt Ritchie who most of our fanbase would have expected to be there, were omitted but we did have an extra man in, in Jamaal Lascelles to make three along with Shelvey and Gayle.

With the main awards to be held on Sunday night, all players chosen for the team of the year will be in with a chance of picking up the player of the year award but that’s odds on to go to Anthony Knockaert of Brighton for varying reasons.

PFA Championship Team of the Year

David Stockdale (Brighton)

Bruno Saltor (Brighton), Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Jamaal Lascelles (NUFC), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)

Tom Cairney (Fulham), Anthony Knockaert (Brighton), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town), Jonjo Shelvey (NUFC)

Dwight Gayle (NUFC), Chris Wood (Leeds United)