Date: 1st February 2013 at 8:37pm
Written by:

As featured on, Newcastle United today submitted their ‘twenty five’ man squad for the second half of the season by actually only picking twenty four eligible players.

The twenty four players are:

Romain Amalfitano
Shola Ameobi
Vurnon Anita
Hatem Ben Arfa
Yohan Cabaye
Papiss Cisse
Fabricio Coloccini
Mathieu Debuchy
Rob Elliot
Dan Gosling
Yoan Gouffran
Jonas Gutierrez
Steve Harper
Tim Krul
Sylvain Marveaux
Gabriel Obertan
James Perch
Danny Simpson
Moussa Sissoko
Ryan Taylor
Steven Taylor
Cheick Tiote
Mike Williamson
Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa

Players born after January 1st 1991 are classed as under 21 and therefore do not have to be classed as a ’25 man squad’ member.

This includes players like new signing, Massadio Haïdara, Sammy Ameobi and Davide Santon.