Date: 11th July 2017 at 10:54pm
Written by:

Newcastle will be taking part in this season’s Checkatrade Trophy this time round after last years tiff has been forgotten. Officially it was handbags over scheduling matches but unofficially it was down to being last choice or something.

Anyway, the club will find out which group it will be in after they were drawn the other day in an obvious Northern section with the Southern section having the same format before the two join together later on in the season.

Each group that was drawn has one gap where the teams still waiting to be picked will fill in.

Aside from us, the other seven teams to be selected are: Everton, Leicester, Man City, Middlesbrough, Stoke, Sunderland and West Brom.

The cup which will only feature our reserves and below will be drawn tomorrow at 3pm and the eight sides will go into each of these groups below:

Group A
Carlisle United
Fleetwood Town

Group B
Accrington Stanley
Wigan Athletic

Group C
Blackburn Rovers

Group D
Crewe Alexandra
Oldham Athletic
Port Vale

Group E
Coventry City
Shrewsbury Town

Group F
Bradford City
Rotherham United

Group G
Lincoln City
Mansfield Town
Notts County

Group H
Doncaster Rovers
Grimsby Town
Scunthorpe United

The cup starting in the week commencing 28th August will see each of the eight teams waiting to be drawn play all of their games in the groups away from home with the top two teams going through.

The next round (round of 32) sees a regionalised draw where group winners face a runner up from a different group before the winners progress to a normal round of 16 with no seeds.

From there it is a straight knock out until the final at Wembley which is on a date not yet scheduled.